Manchester City’s Historic Four Consecutive Premier League Titles

Manchester City has made history by becoming the first English side to win four consecutive top-flight titles since the football league’s inception in 1888. Their remarkable run from 2020 to 2024 set new records and established City as a dominant force under Pep Guardiola’s guidance. 

Not even Sir Alex Ferguson’s all-conquering Manchester United managed this—four titles in a row. This season ends with more disappointment for Arsenal, who have finished second in the Premier League for the second consecutive year. Manchester City sets new standards for Premier League supremacy, dominating the division like never before in the 136 years of England’s top division history.

Betting fans always considered City the favorites each season, but even the most optimistic supporters couldn’t have predicted four consecutive titles. Fans interested in betting on the next season can check William Hill’s new customer offer to boost their betting budget.

Dominance Under Pep Guardiola

Pep Guardiola’s tenure at Manchester City has been nothing short of a masterclass in leadership. Since Pep Guardiola arrived in 2016, Manchester City has won multiple trophies, but the four consecutive Premier League titles truly highlight his impact and skill as a manager. 

Under his tutelage, City has redefined English football with a unique style of play that places emphasis on ball control, high pressing, and fluid attacking movements, inspiring a new generation of football fans.

Record-Breaking Achievements

Manchester City’s run to four consecutive titles has been filled with record-breaking moments. They set a new Premier League record for the longest winning streak from the start of a calendar year, achieving 13 consecutive wins between January and March 2021. Their unbeaten run on the road extended to 22 games, a club record highlighting their consistency home and away​.

The 2022/23 season was particularly historic for City as they secured a treble, winning the Premier League, FA Cup, and their first-ever UEFA Champions League title. Subsequent victories in the UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup made them the first English club to win five major trophies in a calendar year​.

Comparing Manchester City’s Performance Over Four Consecutive Premier League Titles

2020/21 Season

In the 2020/21 season, Manchester City reclaimed the Premier League title with a dominant performance. They won 27 out of 38 matches, securing the title with three games to spare. City’s success was built on a strong defensive foundation, conceding the fewest goals in the league. 

They finished the season with 86 points, 12 more than their rivals in second place. Key victories included a 4-1 triumph over Liverpool and a 2-0 win against Manchester United, highlighting their superiority over their top rivals​.

2021/22 Season

The 2021/22 season saw City continue their dominance, winning 29 matches out of 38. They finished the season with 93 points, edging out Liverpool by just one point in a tightly contested title race. 

They picked up a remarkable run of form in the second half, with City going unbeaten in their last 12 matches to clinch the title. Their ability to grind out results in crucial matches, including a dramatic 3-2 comeback win against Aston Villa on the final day, was crucial.

2022/23 Season

In the 2022/23 season, City won 28 matches to achieve their third consecutive title. They finished with 89 points, again narrowly beating Arsenal to the top spot. This season was particularly historic as City secured a treble, adding the FA Cup and their first-ever UEFA Champions League title to their triumph. 

2023/24 Season

The 2023/24 season saw City complete their historic four-peat, winning 28 matches and amassing 91 points. The season saw record-breaking performances, including Erling Haaland’s 27 goals and Kevin De Bruyne’s continued brilliance in midfield. City’s defensive solidity was again a cornerstone of their success, with Ederson keeping numerous clean sheets. 

Final Thoughts

Manchester City has made history by becoming the first English side to win four consecutive top-flight titles since the football league’s inception in 1888. This remarkable run from 2020 to 2024, guided by Pep Guardiola, has set new records and established City as a dominant force in English football.

Four titles in a row is also six in seven seasons for Guardiola, who has won 17 trophies since joining Manchester City in 2016. That number could rise to 18 if City wins the FA Cup final against Manchester United next week. No other English team has achieved four titles in succession, not even during Liverpool’s dominant era in the 1970s and 80s, or Manchester United’s in the 90s and 2000s.

error: Content is protected !!